Dear Visitor,

Our system has found that you are using an ad-blocking browser add-on.

We just wanted to let you know that our site content is, of course, available to you absolutely free of charge.

Our ads are the only way we have to be able to bring you the latest high-quality content, which is written by professional journalists, with the help of editors, graphic designers, and our site production and I.T. staff, as well as many other talented people who work around the clock for this site.

So, we ask you to add this site to your Ad Blocker’s "white list" or to simply disable your Ad Blocker while visiting this site.

Continue on this site freely
  HOME     MENU     SEARCH     NEWSLETTER    
TECHNOLOGY, DISCOVERY & INNOVATION. UPDATED 5 MINUTES AGO.
You are here: Home / Digital Life / WhatsApp Debuts Delete for Everyone
WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete That Embarrassing Message
WhatsApp Now Lets You Delete That Embarrassing Message
By Rounak Jain Like this on Facebook Tweet this Link thison Linkedin Link this on Google Plus
PUBLISHED:
NOVEMBER
02
2017
Facebook-owned messaging app WhatsApp is now rolling out the Delete for Everyone feature to all its users after having tested it with some users over the last few days. The feature allows users to "recall" or delete sent messages, but both the sender and the receiver need to have the latest version of WhatsApp installed for this to work. Announcing the general availability of Delete for Everyone, WhatsApp revealed that this feature is now available across all platforms -- iOS, Android, Windows Phone and desktop.

Prior to this, Delete for Everyone feature has been available on apps like Skype and Telegram. This feature lets users delete the message from the recipient’s and their own phones too, replacing the deleted message with a text that says “This message was deleted” on the recipient’s phone. However, you are given a window of 7 minutes only to delete your message.

The WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature works in private chats as well as groups, but only if all the parties have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their device.

How To Use WhatsApp Delete for Everyone Feature

Using this feature is very simple -- all you have to do is tap and hold on the message you want to delete, and then tap on the Trash icon. Once done, a popup appears giving you an option to either delete the message for yourself or for everyone.

Now, select Delete for Everyone and voilà, the message will be deleted from your and the recipient's device as well.

Again, if you want to delete a message, you will have to do so within 7 minutes of sending it. After 7 minutes, you won’t be able to delete it.

© 2017 T-break Tech under contract with NewsEdge/Acquire Media. All rights reserved.

Image credit: iStock.

Tell Us What You Think
Comment:

Name:

Ankit Kumar:
Posted: 2017-11-02 @ 8:11pm PT
This is a nice feature so users will not feel embarrassed for sending any incorrect words. If so, then they could replicate or recover it. That's awesome.

Like Us on FacebookFollow Us on Twitter
MORE IN DIGITAL LIFE
SCI-TECH TODAY
NEWSFACTOR NETWORK SITES
NEWSFACTOR SERVICES
© Copyright 2017 NewsFactor Network. All rights reserved. Member of Accuserve Ad Network.